• Welcome to the Framer's Corner Forum, hosted by the Professional Picture Framers Association. (PPFA)
    You will have to register a free account, before you can SEARCH or access the system. If you have already registered, please LOG IN
    If you have already registered, but can't remember your password, CLICK HERE to reset it.

A Horse to Water...

Craig Sterling

Participant
Company
Art Bank Program
Hi everyone!
A quick background. Many years ago, I was a full-time framer and manager of a small frame shop/gallery in Germantown, MD. During my time there, I was assigned by the owners to check out PPFA and how they could benefit the business. Well, little the owners know that PPFA would become invaluable to me for many, many years. When the business closed in 1998, I moved to a position with the Federal Government working with a collection of works on paper. Although my title has changed a few times, I still work for the same program and love working with art on paper.

Today we received three relief prints from a local gallery. The show had recently been taken down and, as always, we ask for any art we hope to purchase to be unframed. When it is unframed, I can better assess the condition of the art and substrate. The pieces we received today had been floated and looked quite nice in their frame. However, the mount method would make most anyone on this forum cringe. The monotypes were printed on BFK Rives…which is a soft and supple paper and takes ink well. The float was accomplished by using A-26 1" white artist's tape rolled into balls on the back of the art. The tape circles/smashed ovals were at least 2 1/2" long. There were five tape balls per artwork…including one in the very center of the print.